Skip to main content

Does Medicare Cover IVF? What Federal Programs, the VA and TRICARE Actually Pay For

Cost Guide · October 9, 2026
ProIVF Editorial Team · ProIVF Medical Advisory Board reviewed
medicare ivf coverageva ivf coveragetricare fertilityivf insurancefertility benefits
Does Medicare Cover IVF? What Federal Programs, the VA and TRICARE Actually Pay For

Medicare does not automatically pay for an IVF cycle, and no federal program does. The Medicare rulebook says infertility services are covered when they are “reasonable and necessary,” but it never lists which ones, so the answer for any individual beneficiary is set by whoever reviews the claim.

Everything below is drawn from primary federal sources — the United States Code and Code of Federal Regulations, two Federal Register rulemakings, and a Congressional Research Service report that quotes the CMS manual directly — compiled by the ProIVF editorial team and reviewed by our medical advisory board.

Does Medicare cover IVF? The answer in one table

ProgramIVF and other ARTDiagnosis, drugs, IUIWho decides
Medicare (Parts A/B)No automatic coverage; manual covers “reasonable and necessary” infertility services without defining themNot specified; claims reviewed case by caseLocal Medicare administrators CRS R46785, p.35
MedicaidState optionState option; states may exclude outpatient fertility drugsEach state SSA §1927(d)(2)(B)
VA health careNot authorized, except one narrow service-connected exceptionCovered for all enrolled veterans38 C.F.R. §17.380
TRICARE (active duty and dependents)Generally excluded by regulationCovered when medically necessary32 C.F.R. §199.4
FEHB (federal employees)Plan-dependent; drugs for three IVF cycles must be coveredIUI and its drugs must be coveredOPM 2024-06
Employer plansNo federal mandate21 states and DC impose their own requirementsState law KFF

Most American IVF patients are not on Medicare at all. The average patient is in her late 30s, still employed, and covered by an employer plan or an individual market policy — which is why the 2026 federal action on fertility sits in tax and benefits law rather than in Medicare.

What does Medicare’s own rulebook actually say?

The Medicare Benefit Policy Manual, Chapter 15, states that “reasonable and necessary services associated with treatment for infertility are covered under Medicare.” It adds that infertility is “a condition sufficiently at variance with the usual state of health” to make seeking treatment appropriate (CRS R46785, p.35).

The Congressional Research Service makes the practical point: the services covered “are not specified,” and “reasonable and necessary” is undefined here, which “can result in different interpretations by Medicare administrators.” No national coverage determination names IVF as a covered procedure.

Two consequences follow for a beneficiary.

  • Diagnostic work is defensible: hormone testing, imaging and semen analysis are ordinary medical services, and a claim can be argued under the general standard.
  • Cycle-based ART is not: nothing in the manual establishes a right to egg retrieval, fertilization in the laboratory, or embryo transfer, and a denial is hard to overturn when the program never published a list.

Medicare treats pregnancy differently from infertility. The same chapter covers the “events of pregnancy” from diagnosis through delivery and postnatal care, whether or not the pregnancy continues.

Does Medicaid pay for IVF?

States may choose to cover fertility diagnosis (laboratory tests, semen analysis, imaging) and treatment, including assisted reproductive technology such as IUI or IVF, in every coverage type: traditional Medicaid, alternative benefit packages, Section 1115 family planning waivers and the optional ACA family planning group (CRS R46785, p.28).

States may also restrict the drug side even where they cover the procedure. Under the Medicaid Drug Rebate rules, outpatient fertility drugs can be excluded or limited by policy.

If you hold Medicaid, ask your state program two questions in writing: whether ART is covered in your category, and whether gonadotropins and GnRH agonists — the injectable hormones that drive egg growth — are on its preferred drug list.

Does the VA cover IVF?

The VA pays for infertility diagnosis and treatment for every enrolled veteran, but it is not authorized to pay for IVF or any other assisted reproductive technology.

Its infertility benefit is broad: VHA states that covered services “are provided to all enrolled veterans without exception.” The list below adapts VHA Directive 1334(1) of April 4, 2024:

  • Female testing: FSH and TSH, genetic counseling and testing, pelvic or transvaginal ultrasound, hysterosalpingogram (an X-ray dye test of the uterus and fallopian tubes) and saline-infused sonohysterogram.
  • Female treatment: surgical correction of structural pathology, tubal ligation reversal, IUI, ovulation induction such as clomiphene, injectable gonadotropins, controlled ovarian hyperstimulation, and oocyte cryopreservation (egg freezing) where medically indicated, with up to five years of covered storage.
  • Male testing: testosterone, FSH, LH and estradiol, semen analysis, genetic counseling and testing, transrectal or scrotal ultrasound, post-ejaculatory urinalysis.
  • Male treatment: erectile dysfunction care, surgical correction, vasectomy reversal, hormonal therapies, sperm retrieval, sperm cryopreservation, ejaculation techniques.

The directive states the limit in its own words: “VA is not authorized to provide or cover the cost of IVF or other ART.”

A narrow exception exists. VA may provide IVF to a veteran and spouse when a service-connected disability makes procreation impossible without treatment (38 C.F.R. §17.380). The authority is not permanent: it is renewed annually through appropriations acts and has run continuously since FY2017, most recently in Section 234 of Division J of the Consolidated Appropriations Act, 2024 (P.L. 118-42).

Under that exception, donor eggs, donor sperm and donor embryos may be used. A veteran need not be married to access it, but the partner must be married to the veteran to receive evaluation or treatment. VA is also exempt from Defense Department embryo-storage limits, so material under the exception can be kept indefinitely; the five-year cap above governs routine enrolled-veteran egg freezing, a separate track. VA may not cover gestational surrogacy in any circumstance: a male veteran in a same-sex relationship could create an embryo with donor eggs but could not have VA pay to transfer it to a gestational carrier.

Does TRICARE cover IVF for active-duty families?

TRICARE mirrors VA: it excludes ART by regulation but pays broadly for diagnosis. Two Congressional Research Service reports document these rules — CRS R46785 for the Medicare, Medicaid, VA, DOD and FEHB statements, CRS IF11504, “Infertility in the Military,” updated May 21, 2026 for military detail.

Federal regulation at 32 C.F.R. §199.4(g)(34) generally bars TRICARE from paying for infertility services for most beneficiaries. It does cover medically necessary diagnosis and treatment of a physical cause: semen analysis, hormone evaluation, chromosomal and immunologic studies, imaging, sperm function tests, and correction of a physical cause of infertility or of erectile dysfunction with a physical cause (CRS IF11504).

Excluded: artificial or intrauterine insemination, donor and sperm bank costs, cryopreservation, and non-coital procedures including IVF, gamete intrafallopian transfer (GIFT), zygote intrafallopian transfer (ZIFT) and tubal embryo transfer.

Two carve-outs matter.

  1. Category II or III care: DOD may pay for limited ART for active-duty members who are seriously or severely ill or injured, and their spouses, under an April 3, 2012 policy memo. Other members may access the same programs on a space-available, cost-sharing basis.
  2. The FY2025 NDAA demonstration: Section 709 of P.L. 118-159 requires a three-year program reimbursing eligible members for retrieval, testing, cryopreservation, shipping and storage of gametes — up to $500 a year for sperm preservation and up to $10,000 for egg preservation, for those awaiting or posted to hazardous duty locations, separated from a spouse for more than 180 days, or otherwise approved.

Congress came close to more: House-passed Section 703 of H.R. 3838 and Senate-passed Section 705 of S. 2296 would have required TRICARE coverage of certain ART services, but the enacted FY2026 NDAA, P.L. 119-60, omitted them.

The price tags explain why. The Congressional Budget Office put H.R. 3838 §703 at about $1.8 billion for 2028-2030 and warned usage is hard to predict; DOD’s 2025 report to Congress put a broader mandate far higher, at $4.9 to $8.7 billion from 2025 through 2030.

Do federal employees get more than Medicare beneficiaries?

The Office of Personnel Management requires FEHB plans to cover artificial insemination (intrauterine, intracervical and intravaginal), the drugs tied to those procedures when medically necessary, and the cost of IVF-related drugs for three cycles annually (OPM Letter 2024-06). It also requires standard fertility preservation for people facing iatrogenic infertility — infertility caused by medical treatment.

Note what is required: the drugs for three cycles, not the cycles themselves. OPM separately encourages plans to negotiate discounted rates for ART they do not cover.

What did Executive Order 14216 and the 2026 rule change?

Neither action pays for a treatment cycle. Executive Order 14216 ordered federal agencies to find ways to lower what patients spend, and the 2026 rule would create a new kind of insurance product rather than add coverage.

“As a Nation, our public policy must make it easier for loving and longing mothers and fathers to have children.” — Executive Order 14216, “Expanding Access to In Vitro Fertilization,” February 18, 2025 (90 FR 10451)

The order set a 90-day deadline for recommendations to reduce out-of-pocket and health plan costs, and cited a per-cycle cost of $12,000 to $25,000.

The regulatory follow-through came on May 13, 2026, when Treasury, Labor and HHS proposed a new category, excepted fertility benefits (91 FR 27140). A limited-scope fertility package sold apart from major medical coverage would be exempt from ACA market rules, HIPAA portability and the No Surprises Act. It sets a lifetime dollar limit of $120,000, indexed for medical inflation in plan years beginning after December 31, 2027.

The trade-off runs both ways.

  • For employers, a carve-out fertility benefit becomes administratively simple, and the agencies said they expect many to offer one.
  • For patients, an excepted benefit is not bound by the ACA ban on annual and lifetime dollar limits, so the cap in your contract is the cap you get.
  • For the services covered, scope is limited to items provided at the direction of licensed professionals; the agencies say the category is not intended to cover abortion or abortion-related services.

This is a proposed rule: comments were due July 13, 2026, and nothing takes effect until final rules publish. The agencies floated an alternative $50,000 lifetime figure and an annual limit of about $15,000 with carryover.

How much will you actually pay?

ItemFigureSource
Share of ART procedures that are IVFmore than 99%91 FR 27143
One IVF cycle, estimated$15,000–$20,00091 FR 27143
Higher published estimate of a cycle$24,373–$38,01591 FR 27148
Average cycles to a pregnancy2.591 FR 27143
Total to one successful conceptioncan exceed $40,000, or even $60,000; another source: $61,37791 FR 27143, 27148
Fertility drugs for one cycle in 2024over $5,00091 FR 27155
Median out-of-pocket, all fertility patientsabout $5,30091 FR 27155, citing cost research
Median out-of-pocket, IVF patientsmore than $19,00091 FR 27155
Employer coverage of IVF (firms with 500+ staff)45%Mercer 2023, as reported by CRS R46785, p.47
Median lifetime IVF cap in employer plans, 2023$20,000Mercer 2024 survey (2023 median), at 91 FR 27148
Births conceived by ART, 202298,289, about 2.7% of US births91 FR 27143

Employer coverage keeps expanding while caps stay low: CRS reports that 66% of firms with more than 500 employees cover fertility evaluation and diagnosis, 45% cover IVF, 19% cover elective egg freezing, and seven in ten employers cover some fertility service.

The median lifetime IVF cap of $20,000 sits below the $40,000-plus that the federal agencies themselves say a single conception can cost.

What two families found when they asked

Coverage questions are settled in writing, by people who keep copies. Both accounts below are composites built from patterns documented in the literature and in clinic practice; names, identity details and amounts are illustrative estimates, not identifiable medical records or price quotes.

Dana, 41, Tucson: Medicare by disability, not by age

Dana qualified for Medicare at 38 through a disability entitlement, so by 41 she had Part A, Part B and a Part D plan, and no employer. Her clinic’s financial coordinator filed a prior authorization for a stimulated retrieval with her diagnosis code.

The reply quoted the “reasonable and necessary” language and concluded that laboratory fertilization was not covered for her plan. She paid $17,400 for one cycle at a private Tucson clinic, plus $2,300 in medication copays.

“I had coverage for everything except the thing I needed,” she said. “They covered the blood draws and the ultrasound and not the room where the eggs actually got collected.”

Marcus and Elena, 33 and 32, San Diego: the $10,000 line

Marcus is an active-duty officer whose orders separated him from his spouse for more than 180 days. Under the FY2025 NDAA demonstration, the couple used the fertility-preservation reimbursement for egg retrieval and storage instead of a full cycle.

They submitted $8,900 of retrieval, testing, cryopreservation and storage costs against the $10,000 egg-preservation cap, then planned a later transfer at an in-network installation where ART is available on a cost-share basis.

“The cap is real and it is not big,” Elena said. “But it paid for the freezing, and the freezing is what bought us two more years.”

Questions worth asking before you start a cycle

Ask these of your plan or HR benefits office, in writing, and get the answer in writing.

  1. Is in vitro fertilization a covered benefit in my plan, or only infertility diagnosis and medication?
  2. What is the lifetime dollar limit, and does it reset each plan year or each attempt?
  3. Which CPT codes are covered for retrieval, fertilization, culture and transfer, and which bundled?
  4. Are gonadotropins and GnRH agonists on my formulary, and at what tier?
  5. If my plan uses a fertility benefit vendor, is that package an “excepted benefit,” and what protections fall away?

FAQ

Q: Does Medicare cover IVF in 2026?

No federal rule makes Medicare pay for an IVF cycle, so the $15,000 to $20,000 a 2026 rulemaking estimates per cycle lands on you. The Medicare Benefit Policy Manual covers “reasonable and necessary” infertility services but never defines them, and CRS notes the covered services “are not specified,” which produces inconsistent adjudication.

Q: Does Medicare cover the medications for IVF?

Part D plans decide drug coverage individually, and the statute letting states exclude outpatient fertility drugs under Medicaid has no federal counterpart requiring Medicare to include them. Published 2024 estimates put one cycle of medication over $5,000, so confirm the gonadotropin tier first.

Q: Does the VA cover IVF?

Only in a narrow case: VA is not authorized to cover IVF or other ART, except for a veteran whose service-connected disability causes inability to procreate, under 38 C.F.R. §17.380 and an authority renewed annually since FY2017. VA does cover IUI, ovulation induction, gonadotropins, surgical correction, sperm retrieval and up to five years of medically indicated egg freezing for all enrolled veterans.

Q: Does TRICARE cover IVF?

Generally no: 32 C.F.R. §199.4(g)(34) bars most ART — IVF, donor and sperm bank costs, cryopreservation — while covering diagnostics such as semen analysis, hormone evaluation and chromosomal studies. Limited ART exists for seriously or severely ill or injured active-duty members and spouses, and the FY2025 NDAA created a three-year demonstration reimbursing up to $500 yearly for sperm and $10,000 for egg preservation.

Q: Is IVF covered by insurance in my state?

At least 21 states and the District of Columbia had enacted private-insurance infertility coverage requirements as of late 2023, and they differ: some cover only fertility preservation, some require treatment but not IVF, some require IVF with cycle caps and patient-cost conditions (KFF state indicator).

Q: What are excepted fertility benefits?

A proposed federal category, published May 13, 2026, letting employers offer a separate, limited-scope fertility package exempt from major ACA market rules, with a proposed $120,000 lifetime limit. As an excepted benefit it is not protected by the ban on annual and lifetime dollar limits, so the contract’s cap binds.

Q: Is the 2026 fertility rule in effect?

No — the comment period closed July 13, 2026, and the agencies asked whether a $50,000 lifetime limit or an annual limit of about $15,000 with carryover would work better. Do not rely on a benefit that depends on final regulations.

Q: How much does IVF cost without coverage?

Federal rulemaking cites $15,000 to $20,000 per cycle and 2.5 cycles on average to a pregnancy, which “can exceed $40,000,” while Executive Order 14216 cited $12,000 to $25,000 per cycle. Median out-of-pocket spending for IVF patients exceeded $19,000.

Where to go from here

Federal programs split cleanly: they fund diagnosis, almost never the laboratory. Write down which side of that line you are on before you book monitoring, because the same decision tree produces a $0 bill or a $19,000-plus one.

Our US IVF cost guide and how much does IVF cost break down clinic pricing, while the insurance coverage guide and Is IVF covered by insurance? cover state-by-state mandates. Compare programs by country in the hospital directory, or send your plan documents through the contact page and we will map the exclusions with you.

This article is health information, not individual medical advice, and not benefits or legal advice. Coverage decisions rest with your plan administrator and with the regulations in force on the date of service; verify every figure against the cited primary source.

Every coverage statement above links to Federal Register text, the Code of Federal Regulations, the CMS manual as quoted by CRS, or the KFF state indicator. Mercer survey figures are cited as reported by CRS and the 2026 proposed rule, not from the paywalled original. Patient accounts are composites. The ProIVF Medical Advisory Board reviewed the final text. About the team: About us.

Last updated: October 9, 2026

Ready to start your fertility journey?

Get a personalized plan from our medical advisors